By default, broadcasts are public and viewable to anyone. If you create a private broadcast, only people who you invite will be able to see it. If you want to invite someone to a private broadcast, you must be following them and they must be following you.
What happens when you start a public broadcast?
- A push notification is sent to your followers, indicating that you are live.
- Anyone who joins your broadcast can chat (unless you’ve limited chat to users you follow) and send hearts.
- Anyone who joins your broadcast can share it on Twitter, with all of their followers on Pericope, with specific followers on Periscope, on Facebook or can copy the link and share it with others.
- If you choose to Tweet your broadcast, anyone can watch the broadcast on web or in their Twitter timeline. Anyone on Twitter can retweet the link to your broadcast to share your stream with their audience.
- Your live broadcast and replay will appear on everyone’s global feed and your followers’ feeds in the Watch Tab, unless you choose to delete it.
What happens when you start a private broadcast?
- You can select who to invite to the broadcast. You can only invite ‘Mutual’s (they follow you and you follow them) but you can choose all of your Mutuals or select specific people to invite.
- Only the people you invite can watch, chat, and send hearts.
- You can control who sees your broadcast; no one will be able to share your broadcast.
- When you privately broadcast a video, the video and a summary of broadcast information (such as your broadcast title, and when and where you broadcast) will be available to the followers you have invited, unless you choose to delete it.